2021 Winners

Best ADC Platform Technology

Runner Up: Synaffix.

Winner: Legochem biosciences


Best New Drug Developer

Runner Up: Macrogenics

Winner: Silverback Therapeutics


Most Promising Clinical Candidate

This year was competition was tight for most promising clinical candidate. So much so that we have two runners up:

The first runner up is; STRO-002 from Sutro Bio

The second runner up: Trastuzumab duocarmazine (SYD985)

Winner: patritumab deruxtecan (HER3-DXd; formerly U3-1402


Best Contract Manufacturing (CMO) Provider

Runner up: BSP Pharmaceuticals

Winner: Lonza


Best Contract Research (CRO) Provider

Runner up: Sterling Pharma Solutions

Winner: NJ Bio


Best Preclinical Publication 2020

Runner Up:

Antibody-PROTAC Conjugates Enable HER2-Dependent Targeted Protein Degradation of BRD4.

Maneiro MA, Forte N, Shchepinova MM, Kounde CS, Chudasama V, Baker JR, Tate EW.ACS Chem Biol. 2020 Jun 19;15(6):1306-1312. doi: 10.1021/acschembio.0c00285. Epub 2020 Apr 30.PMID: 32338867

Citations: 30


A bi-orthogonal system reveals antitumour immune function of pyroptosis.


Wang Q, Wang Y, Ding J, Wang C, Zhou X, Gao W, Huang H, Shao F, Liu Z.Nature. 2020 Mar;579(7799):421-426. doi: 10.1038/s41586-020-2079-1. Epub 2020 Mar 11.PMID: 32188939

Citations: 106


Best Clinical Publication 2020

Runner Up:

Polatuzumab Vedotin in Relapsed or Refractory Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma.

Sehn LH, Herrera AF, Flowers CR, Kamdar MK, McMillan A, Hertzberg M, Assouline S, Kim TM, Kim WS, Ozcan M, Hirata J, Penuel E, Paulson JN, Cheng J, Ku G, Matasar MJ.J Clin Oncol. 2020 Jan 10;38(2):155-165. doi: 10.1200/JCO.19.00172. Epub 2019 Nov 6.PMID: 31693429

Citations: 206


Trastuzumab Deruxtecan in Previously Treated HER2-Positive Breast Cancer.

Modi S, Saura C, Yamashita T, Park YH, Kim SB, Tamura K, Andre F, Iwata H, Ito Y, Tsurutani J, Sohn J, Denduluri N, Perrin C, Aogi K, Tokunaga E, Im SA, Lee KS, Hurvitz SA, Cortes J, Lee C, Chen S, Zhang L, Shahidi J, Yver A, Krop I; DESTINY-Breast01 Investigators.N Engl J Med. 2020 Feb 13;382(7):610-621. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1914510. Epub 2019 Dec 11.PMID: 31825192

Citations: 456


NEW - Outstanding Academic Investigator Award

Winner: Kyoji Tsuchikama, Associate Professor, University of Texas

Best Poster 2021

GlycoConnect™ ADCs Based on Topoisomerase 1 Inhibitor Exatecan (SYNtecan™) Show Excellent In Vivo Efficacy and Tolerability - Synaffix 



The George R Pettit Individual Input to the Field Award 2020
Winner: Greg Thurber, Associate Chair for Graduate Education in Chemical Engineering
Associate Professor in Chemical Engineering
Associate Professor in Biomedical Engineering
University of Michigan


Long Standing Contribution to the Field

Winner: Philip Howard, Chief Scientific Officer, Spirogen